Early Mornings, Outlander, and Perfect Peace

Due to some shifting of responsibilities and the impending school year, I was (quite reluctantly) up at 4:45 a.m. this morning.  My husband can attest that I am one of those Annoying Morning People…but this seemed a bit excessive, even for me.  But in order to do All The Mom Things, I had to rearrange Life.

So there I was, watering the herbs and flowers in the still-dark-of-nightness.  The moon cast an otherworldly glow about the yard, and the scent of rosemary was thick in the still, heavy summer air.  The insect filled sounds of night had not yet given way to the early morning buzz of activity.  The only sound was the gentle lapping of water onto parched earth.

As I moved about the yard, pitch black gave way to shadows.  I wound my way from the mint patch to the bergamot, and the moon travelled with me.  Then as the misty silver orb edged its way towards one horizon, the slightest golden glow started to burn on the edges of the other.

Strange how the dawn sneaks up on you.  Like children aging and hearts mending, all seems static and timeless until you turn around only to find that you baby is going off to college or that the Thing You Could Never Forgive is now water under the bridge.

It made me think of what Jamie tells Claire in Drums in Autumn:

“It’s only a moment, but ye feel as though it will last forever.  Strange, is it no?” he said thoughtfully.  “Ye can almost see the light go as ye watch–and yet there’s no time ye can look and say ‘Now! Now it’s night.”

So many things are like that…only identifiable by the presence of its opposite.  We don’t know how bad we felt until we feel better.  We don’t appreciate what we have until we lose it.

By the time I made my way to the back garden to let the chickens out to sing their Morning Greeting Song, the dawn was breaking through the treeline and chasing away the shadows.

In a week full of health scares, and work drama, and tire blow outs, and money worries, and more Back To Schoolness than I can handle, it was a moment of perfect peace.  For just a moment, there were no bills, no deadlines, no morning commute.

There was nothing but me, in a still moment of joy, as evening gave way to day.

image
A Thighearna, dèan tròcair oirnn.
12 thoughts on “Early Mornings, Outlander, and Perfect Peace

  1. I could feel the peace of the moment in your words. They made me think back to sitting on the porch of our holiday cottage. Lighting the candles and watching the sky turn deep blue as the twilight faded into night. A similar moment of peace. Thank you for your writings! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That was lovely! Trust me when I say, you will have more moments like this. Every since my mom got sick and things changed so drastically, I’ve been paying more attention to everything around me and appreciated it all the more.

    A lot of people knew Robert Frost to be a melancholy man but in my opinion, he was of the right frame of mind when it came to some things.

    Nature’s first green is gold,
    Her hardest hue to hold.
    Her early leaf’s a flower;
    But only so an hour.
    Then leaf subsides to leaf,
    So Eden sank to grief,
    So dawn goes down to day
    Nothing gold can stay.

    My take is enjoy those perfect peaceful moments every time they come around. They make not stay for long in the physical world but they are burned into your memory forever.

    Thanks for sharing!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am not, constitutionally, a morning person. Quite the opposite, in fact, but several years ago on a family trip to Kauai, the time change was such that my body’s clock had me getting up with the roosters! It was the first time in many years that I had intentionally been up to see the sunrise. Sitting in the sand, the soft lapping of the waves on the beach, the air soft and cool, the blazing sun creeping over the eastern horizon…definitely a moment of bliss. I took several photos, but I really don’t have to look at them to relive that moment! Frost speaks to me, too. It’s been many years since I read either of those poems. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am a certified night owl, yet I often see the sun rise as I’m on my way to bed. I love that Frost poem. Someone quotes it in one of the books I’ve read lately. I think it’s an Anita Blake book by Laurell K Hamilton but darned if I can remember which one of the twenty or so she’s written.
    And thank you for sharing your moment of peace. It has been needed this week. If I didn’t know better I’d swear it was Monday every day this week. Who cares about Friday the 13th. I lived through Monday the 3rd!

    Like

Leave a Reply

