Do-Overs

The older I get, the more childlike I feel. Perhaps it is realizing that, like Jon Snow, I know nothing. Or maybe it is just the fact that, knowing that I know nothing, I am eager to change that.

Fortunately, life (like the seasons) often circles back upon itself. It provides time for do-overs. We can learn again the things we have learned before and long since forgotten. Thank God for do-overs. Hopefully, I am getting it right this time around.

As a child, I knew that it felt good to kick of my shoes and feel the cool earth beneath my feet. As a young adult, I wore stylish shoes, too high heels, and footwear that would never be mistaken for as “sensible.” Now, I can go days without wearing shoes, and I make sure to plant my heels firmly on the grass each day and to feel the earth under foot.

As I child, I lost entire days between the pages of books. Pale and hungry I’d emerge from my room just long enough to find sustenance before returning to find out just what happened to Laura Ingalls this time. As a young adult, I read for a diploma but rarely for pleasure. Then, with diploma in hand, I went to work. Metaphors and similes were replaced with legalese. Page after page of words that cost a lot…but which said very little. Now I have stumbled back between the pages, and I have written some pages myself. And I have rediscovered the beauty and value of words on a page.

As a child, I snuck home a stray kitten and hid them in my closet. I snuck them food and water, made a makeshift litter box out of a shoebox and, when soon discovered, begged and pleaded with my parents to be able to keep her. As a young adult, I stifled my love of animals. With animals came responsibilities, and expense, and inconvenient attachments. While I avoided such attachments, I also missed out on the unconditional love and joy they bring. Now I have three cats, a dog, and four chickens. (And a very tolerant husband who does not bemoan the investment of time or money for their care.) Chickens may be “verra poor company,” but they are a very sweet distraction. And, in case I haven’t mentioned it…EGGS!

imageAs I child, I knew that I was well cared for. I never fretted about it. I just knew. As a young adult, I wanted to prove that I needed no one, that I was capable and competent and that everything was under control. Life laughed a lot and quickly showed me who was boss. (Hint: It wasn’t me!) As an adult, I realize that very little is in my control. But I feel cared for anyway. I am surrounded by people who care. I am surrounded by more kindness and generosity than I could ever imagine.

As a child, I never thought about what I looked like or how much I weighed. I was just me. And that was enough. As a young adult, I tried unhealthy things to obtain what I believed to be a “healthy” look. I dyed my hair black. I permed it. I straightened it. I wore colored contacts. If I looked at myself in a mirror too long the faults were magnified and would ruin my entire day. I took cover behind make-up like a warrior behind his shield. Now, I rarely wear makeup. My “hair style” is whatever I hack off late at night when I realize it is getting unruly. I have traded contacts for glasses, and I can go days without looking at a mirror. I hike and run–not for what it does to my waist line, but for what it does for my soul.

This is forty-three.
This is forty-three.

Finally, at 43 I am comfortable in my own skin. I don’t know quite how we will manage all the medical issues, and the medical bills, and the fifteen year old van that is on its last leg, and…well, all of those “real life” things. But we will. Somehow, we will.

I know nothing.

But I know that.

10 thoughts on “Do-Overs

  1. You look so beautiful! It is lovely to hear about your life so thank you for sharing with us. I am sorry to hear that you have medical issues and all the medical bills that go with it. Love and hugs x

    Liked by 1 person

      • I fully agree. Love over everything else, when you have found the right person. 💜💜
        Being in the UK we don’t have medical bills, [though we pay towards the health system] & unfortunately I have two chronic diseases which have no cure but I would never had gotten so far without the love and care of my husband. I continue to look forward to your posts xx

        Like

  2. My friend. I love you.

    I love this new awakening. It seems to be a theme this year – new experiences, new adventures, or old experiences revisited and “done right this time.” Like you said, do-overs. We got this. ❤

    Like

  3. I am so happy that you’ve gotten back to the place where you love you for you. I do most days as well. The days where I can’t see it I am so thankful I have my little black cats to pull me back to the edge of responsibility if not actually liking myself at the moment. They really are therapy animals, even without fancy vests.
    My other life-line has always been reading. I can get lost in my favorite books and tune out all the roaring of negativity screaming around and about me. And in doing so the nay-sayers inside and outside just have to shut up when they lose their voices.
    Glad your husband is getting better.

    Like

    • When I can’t love me for what I am, Itry to love me for what I am becoming. And yes, animals help. They don’t judge.

      I had to stop myself from starting this reply with: I HAVE WEE BLACK CAT TOO! Mostly because it is a lie…he is decidedly NOT wee. (He is a huge, black Maine Coon named Sirius Black. And, yes, I know that Sirius was a dog, but if you met my cat you’d agree that it fits.)

      And, for what it’s worth…I won’t nay-say you. You’ve got this!!! 💕

      Like

  4. Glad you are learning this at 43. I am 54 and I am also just learning to like me for who I am, not who I wish I were. The stresses of moving halfway across the country (still in progress) are helping me to rediscover just exactly what is and isn’t important. I feel fortunate to be getting a new beginning in a new place. And writing will definitely be a part of the new beginning… Learning to appreciate what I have more and with whom I am sharing it.

    Like

    • That is awesome! Sometimes one change (like a move) can inspire a whole host of changes! And new beginnings are the best kind of do-over. Good luck with the moves, the changes, and the writing.

      Like

  5. All I have to say is that I will be turning 40 in a few days and I feel more confident than ever. I tend to believe that most women are physically gorgeous in their teens and 20s. However, they lack confidence. Most women in their 30s and 40s are more confident even with a few extra pounds. Physically I have not changed much since my late 20s. However, I am capable of doing more things now that I never thought I could do back then. Of course, there are things that I would never be happy about (my wavy and frizzy hair), but I guess one has to accept and learn to live with it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

