Autumn, Back to School, and Thanksgiving

Autumn is coming...
Autumn is coming…

The minions will be going back to school soon.  This means that all of their activities and extracurricular activities become my own.  The chaos commences tomorrow.  I must go exchange the 1/2 size violin for a 3/4.  There are school supplies to be purchased, lunch boxes to be bought (gluten free lunches anyone?), shoes to be picked out, and organizing to do.

I have to confess, though:  Growing up, I always adored Back to School time.  I loved the new supplies, the smell of freshly sharpened pencils.  I could not get enough plaid skirts.  (Well, plaid anything, really.)  I loved the anticipation of autumn just around the corner. 

I would wear sweaters long before it was legitimately cool enough to justify it.  (I will happily wear a sweater at 70 or 75 degrees, but 55 degrees is officially “mandatory sweater weather!”)  In case you were not aware:  I.  LOVE.  AUTUMN. 

Seriously.  It is my favorite time of year.  I love the smell in the air, the crunch of dry leaves underfoot, the shift in flavors from the lighter fare of summer to the heartier meals of autumn.  I love new boots and jackets and scarves.  Suddenly, I want to knit, to sew, to cook!  Heck, I even got married in autumn, because who wants to have an outdoor wedding in sweaty June?  Give me October!!!  Yep, I’m an autumn girl.

And the best part is…it is nearly here.  Once September arrives, I will start prepping in earnest.  There is a wood pile to stack high, a chimney to get cleaned, a pantry to stock, and clothes to sort.  And I am so ready!

But, in the meantime, other things must take priority.  I have a new “side project” which will be ready soon.  It is a drastically different genre, and will be published under a pen name.  But I am very excited about it.  I am days away from finishing the first draft.  Then there is editing to be done before it is offered to beta readers.  (It should launch in late August or early September.)  And there are still a couple of weeks of summer before the kids all head off to the bus stop, ready to take on another year of learning, and messing up, and growing up.  So, while I am eager for fall, I want to make sure that I don’t miss a moment of it!

Maybe this weekend we will rent a movie, pop some popcorn, and drag out a pile of blankets to cuddle up on while we watch, and talk, and laugh.  Perhaps we will make slushies with the machine that their Grandma Z gave us.  And we’ll have an anniversary dinner for my parents, too.  Fifty years!  Yep, there is a lot to be thankful for.  A lot I should slow down and enjoy. 

What are you thankful for this time of year?

 

Leave a Reply

